Solar Energy For Science
Secretariat, c/o DESY
Notkestraße 85
22607 Hamburg

Phone: +49 40 8998 5613
Fax: +49 40 8998 4304


Concept Paper






Under the auspices of the First Major of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Symposium Committee

International Advisory Board
  • Klaus Töpfer (Chair), Executive Director of the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, former Director UNEP
  • Mostapha Bousmina, Director General Inanotech and Chancellor of the Hussein II Academy of Science and Technology, Morocco
  • Gretchen Kalonji, Assistant Director General, Natural Sciences Sector to UNESCO
  • Gerhard Knies, Chair Board of Trustees of DESERTEC Foundation
  • Dirk Messner, Director German Development Institute
  • Stephan Schaller, Vice Chairman of the Management Board of SCHOTT AG
  • Maged Al-Sherbiny, President of the Egyptian Academy of Scientific Research and Technology
  • Herwig Schopper, Chair of Scientific Board of UNESCO International Basic Science Programme IBSP, former Director-General CERN, former President SESAME Council
  • Khaled Toukan, Director General of SESAME
  • Hermann-Friedrich Wagner, former Chairman OECD Global Science Forum
  • Ernst-Ulrich von Weizsäcker, former Dean of Bren School of Environmental Science and Management, University of California, Santa Barbara and former President of Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy